Be all there!

As life begins to get a little bit busier here and the weeks go faster, I am delighted as I am getting into a routine and I LOVE routine. Apparently I am 29 going on 79 – spontaneity is overrated! There is nothing like organised, planned fun. However I digress.

Amongst all of the challenges I have encountered and opportunities I have been given since I’ve arrived, these words of Jim Elliot have constantly been on my mind:

“Wherever you are, be all there! Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.”

Now, I am about to get somewhat personal and for those of you who know me please rest assured I am not feeling unwell, but sometimes needs must.

I admit it. I have been missing my life in Newcastle. I miss my friends, I miss my church and I miss my work. (I also REALLY miss the coffee shops, but that is a topic for a whole other blog… ‘coffee shop crawls’ being one of my hobbies.)

Last weekend, at a bible study day, I was reminded by a lady that God puts us in a place for a reason. I have a choice – either I can complain and ask God why I am here or I can ask God what he wants me to do for Him here and now. Living the life of a disciple of Jesus Christ means that I sacrifice ALL – even plans that are good – good plans that I have for Him. Yet, that’s exactly the problem – they are my plans and God wants to use me in His plan.

Do things make any more sense five weeks in? No, not really. However this is where I belong for now and where God is moulding me into that tool for His service – what right have I to question Him? (Isaiah 45:9)

So let me tell you about some of the moulding process so far…

  1. Last week I walked into class and there was a flannel graph in the room. I mean, need I say more?! Who needs an interactive white board when you can have a flannel graph?! I never thought I would say this, but I am really LOVING the Children’s Ministries module.
  2. I played ‘Toilet Tig’ at my children’s placement AND it was best fun. What a privilege to tell ‘the coming generation… the wonders He has done’. (Psalm 78:4)
  3. I’ve seen such amazing commitment and dedication within my church family – they are truly being all for God wherever they are!
  4. I’ve started a module called ‘Old Testament Survey’, otherwise known as ‘I can’t believe I have been a Christian for 15 years and don’t know half (any) of this’.
  5. I’ve discussed the Shekinah Glory in the bathroom and compared the packing of the tabernacle to a Duke of Edinburgh expedition.
  6. I’ve been introduced to Marmite. Important life lesson – DO NOT spread it like Nutella. Otherwise you will most definitely fall into the ‘hate it’ camp. The ‘love it’ camp will not be open to you… EVER.
  7. I’ve learned some Italian phrases for our mission awareness trip in a couple of weeks. Duolingo (other apps are available) has ‘usefully’ taught me the words for ‘man’,’woman’, ‘boy’ and ‘girl’, but not for ‘hello’. So I’m confident in my ability to distinguish between male and female, but surely starting a conversation with ‘hello’ would be more socially acceptable (and let’s face it… a little less weird)?
  8. I also started my social placement this week. Having just been studying the book of Luke and seeing that one of the main themes is that the Lord Jesus spent time with those on the fringes of society, this placement has really challenged me. The Lord came ‘to seek and to save the lost’ (Luke 19:10) and I am called to love them as He did.

As week six begins I know the moulding process of this year has only just begun – I can feel my comfort zone being stretched already! However I will leave you with the words of Oswald Chambers, which I believe sum up what my attitude must be over the coming weeks and months:

“Wherever the providence of God may dump us down, in a slum, in a shop, in the desert, we have to labour along the line of His direction. Never allow this thought – “I am no use where I am,” because you certainly can be of no use where you are not! Wherever He has engineered your circumstances, pray.”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Be all there!

  1. Christine Thwaites says:

    Hi Judith,

    Thank you so much for your updates. They are very encouraging (not to mention witty – which I just did!). You have done so much in such a short time!

    I did Dance/Drama at College, so the drama on the streets sounds really exciting to me. I pray it will be a really effective form of outreach.

    I have two minutes to my 8:30 start time, so will try to respond with more detail next time.

    God bless, guide and strengthen you.

    Christine

    Like

Leave a Reply

