This doesn’t make sense…

 

I’ve been challenged by the life of Abraham recently. He went when God called him. He believed when God said He would show him the land – what faith! Yet it must have made no sense to him at all.

For me, coming to Bible College has felt a bit like that… obeying when it doesn’t seem to make sense. I hasten to add that I am in no way comparing myself to Abraham. My ‘Jonah moments’, up until this point, have far outweighed my ‘Abraham moments’. However here I am… sitting at a desk as a student again with the thought, ‘what on earth am I doing?!’ flying through my mind every so often!

So what am I doing?

  1. I’ve been ‘Learning to Learn’ again. Having finished university six years ago, it has been very helpful to be reminded of the purpose of a footnote, a bibliography and mind maps (personally I prefer a list; some of you will not be surprised to read). The inner geek in me is very much looking forward to my studies.
  2. Bible verse memorisation is on the cards as well… little cards that you can keep in your bible, under your pillow or in your pocket and whip out at the dinner table to test your fellow students (or make them feel spiritually inferior, depending on how Christian you are feeling that day).
  3. I’ve learned the value of having a great church family and how this really helps you feel at home in a new place, even though I’ve only been here for a couple of weeks. The only downside is that most of them seem to be called either Jim or Margaret, which could be somewhat problematic.
  4. I’ve been reminded by my church family that my strength is in the Lord – Psalm 121.
  5. I’ve learned that the Northern Irish accent even causes our Celtic cousins some difficulties. The other day I asked a gentleman on the street if he could point me in the direction of ASDA. A fairly simple question you may think. Alas, no. He thought I was looking for ‘Alistair’. Thankfully one of my fellow classmates, being a native, was able to translate for me. Life is difficult… so it is. I did find ASDA, but the illusive Alistair remains at large.
  6. I’ve had the privilege of learning how God has worked in the lives of each of my classmates, as we share our testimonies with each other during morning devotions.
  7. I’ve been given a ‘big picture’ overview of the Bible (it’s a pretty great book) and learned that Acts was written before Luke… who knew?!
  8. I’ve met those who have a heart for seeing teenagers come to know the Lord – their sacrificial attitude has really challenged me.

I think eight learning points is more than enough for now. I wouldn’t want my old housemates to think their teaching profession had influenced me in any way – a big shout out to you both!

As week three begins, many things still don’t make sense, but I have a God who has told me to, ‘Be strong and courageous and DO IT…’ (1 Chronicles 28 v 20). So I guess I’d better obey.

Leave a Reply

